top of page

Metamorphosis by Diamond

Is it selfish of me to hope it gets better than this


To look upon all the good fortune I’ve been granted and know

that I am not done receiving good things

Is it naive of me to think I know 

that there is more than just this life


Presently

I am debunking the many myths of maturation

Learning

the true demands of development

the requirements of a chrysalis


In Kindergarten

It was simple


Caterpillar, cocoon, butterfly

A manageable type of magic


But now I know

of the disintegration of the body

of the melting of flesh

and the reforming of refuse into wings

Of the cracking like an egg

of the breaking out


This

is nowhere near the storied metamorphosis

No glass slippers

no three wishes

This is like holding fanciful childhood fairy tales 

up to their Grimm counterparts

It’s like do I really want to fly

if this is what I have to go through to get wings

It is back breaking sacrifice

It is a masterpiece 

at the expense of a soul

It is having to discard the only part of myself I have ever known

It doesn’t feel like shedding a weight

it feels like ripping off my skin, this re-birth

It feels like scraping away and discarding what has protected me for all these years


All I feel now

Is raw


When I was 5 what

I learned about was a beautiful evolution

Elegant

Effortless


But this doesn’t feel like a transformation

it feels like breaking down

like dissolving

And it’s taking all of me

not to give in to the pain of it

 

Is it too late to give up now?

Is it too late to trade this mutation in for my old life


It’s not euphoric anymore

It’s not just a pretty thought

It hurts


And I wish I were braver than I am

Excitedly jumping into this chalk outline

knowing it won’t be the end of it all


but There is no grandiose music playing in the background here

There are no singing birds

Not even screaming

Not even (my) screaming just silence

While the rest of the world waits to blossom I am breaking down


In kindergarten I was in awe of the butterfly

Astounded by its beauty

Completely forgot about the caterpillar

about the thing that gave its life for this


And right now I am the thing that gets forgotten 


And I wonder

if I will be granted the memory of this life in the next

or if evolution will erase the days I’ve spent in this body


This body

Has been so good to me

But this body

Is not going to make it much further like this

I don't have it in me to drag myself through the dirt anymore

There aren't many options left

And rebirth requires the death of this body

This body

deserves to bloom into it’s best self

no matter how much it hurts

no matter how much it hurts

no matter how much it hurts


Is it selfish of me

To hope it gets better than this



by Diamond Mason



--



“But that's the wonderful thing about man; he never gets so discouraged or disgusted that he gives up doing it all over again, because he knows very well it is important and worth the doing.” ― Ray BradburyFahrenheit 451

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page